## City of Batesville Common Council Memorial Building January 9, 2012 6:40 PM

Members Present: Gene Lambert, Beth Meyers, Robert Narwold, Kevin Chaffee, Darrick Cox

Mayor Rick Fledderman City Clerk-Treasurer: Ron Weigel City Attorney: Lynn Fledderman

Gene Lambert made a motion, seconded by Robert Narwold, to approve the minutes from the previous meeting. All ayes so passed.

Mr. Ron Decker, owner of Digitech Advertising & Marketing, came before council to inform them that a website: <u>www.batesvilleonline.com</u>, which he owns, is available free of charge for anyone wishing to advertise yard or garage sales. Due to the city passing a sign ordinance regulating signs on city property he felt this may be a way for residents to still advertise and promote their yard sales.

Derrick Cox made a motion, second by Kevin Chaffee, to designate the Batesville Herald Tribune as the city's official newspaper for legal advertising and notices in 2012. All ayes so passed.

Darrick Cox made a motion, seconded by Beth Meyers, to appoint Gene Lambert as council president, a council appointment, for 2012. All ayes so passed.

Gene Lambert made a motion seconded by Robert Narwold, to appoint Darrick Cox to the Batesville Board of Zoning Appeals as a council appointment for 2012. This is <u>a 4 year term</u> and he replaces Jim Hortemiller. All ayes so passed.

Gene Lambert made a motion, seconded by Kevin Chaffee, to re-appoint Robert Fitzpatrick as a 2012 council appointment to the Parks & Recreation Commission - <u>a 3 year term</u>. All ayes so passed.

Darrick Cox made a motion, seconded by Robert Narwold, to re-appoint Sue Siefert as a 2012 council appointment to the Utilities Service Board – <u>a 4 year term.</u> All ayes so passed.

Gene Lambert made a motion, seconded by Kevin Chaffee, to appoint Beth Meyers and Darrick Cox as 2012 council appointments to the Department of Redevelopment. This is an annual appointment and they will replace Brad Dreyer and Edwin Hunter. All ayes so passed.

Kevin Chaffee made a motion, seconded by Darrick Cox, to table requests for Belterra Funds (\$36,976.08) until the February 2012 meeting. All ayes so passed.

Councilman Gene Lambert noted a proposed amendment to the Belterra (riverboat) Funds ordinance for the next meeting and requested this be placed on the 2/2012 agenda.

Appointments made by the mayor include: Council Finance Committee: Beth Meyers, Darrick Cox, re-appoint Robert Narwold Economic Development: Bill Flannery replaces Trisha Miller Planning Commission: Kevin Chaffee replaces Herman Struewing Utility Service Board: Re-appoint Hank Pictor Redevelopment: Re-appoint Dennis Harmeyer & Andy Saner Council Representative to Rural Fire Assn.: Robert Narwold Ripley County Beverage Board: Re-appoint Amy Buckley Industrial Park Commission: Andy Saner replaces Richard Rahe & Tom Jeffers replaces John Irrgang

Park Board: Re-appoint Brad Dickey, no appointment at this time to replace Beth Meyers

Beth Meyers made a motion, seconded by Darrick Cox, to approve the claims as presented by the Clerk-Treasurer. All ayes so passed.

Darrick Cox made a motion, seconded by Kevin Chaffee to adjourn. All ayes so passed.

Richard Fledderman, Mayor

Attest:

Ronald C. Weigel, Clerk-Treasurer